Levitating Ball

Title: Levitating Ball

 

Purpose:

Understanding Air Pressure 

 

Hypothesis/Prediction (What I think will happen and why?)

 

I think that once you place the ball on top of the hairdryer, then you turn it on and make the air come out but not that fast then it should be just floating on top of the hair drier. I think the more you crank up the air pressure the higher the ball will be above the hair drier. But I think you move around with the hairdryer on and the ball will stay at the top of the hairdryer no matter where you walk around.

 

Equipment/Materials

 

Hair DrierPing Pong Ball

 

Method

 

Firstly you will need two things which are a hairdryer and a ping pong ball and after doing that you will need to plug in the hair drier into the outlet in your house/school. After plugging it in, hold the ball just on top of the hairdryer and turn it on and the ball will start floating and make some new moves and have fun. 

 

Discussion

 

L .When the hairdryer had been turned on the ball had floated above it due to the air keeping it up. I also didn’t expect it to still be floating in the air even after we turned the air pressure up. 

 

S . I had seen the ball floating above the hairdryer and it was fun because when I cranked up the pressure I didn’t expect it to still hover over top, it was also exciting because when I was moving the hair dryer the ball was still over the hairdryer but I thought that it was going to fall off 

M: When I used the hairdrier and ping pball and we had to start on a low heat so that the ball could kind get the hang of floating in the air. Then you can start turning the heat up and try different speeds. A higher speed made the ball go higher. The change of heat settings made no difference.

 

Conclusion

 

Hope you enjoy this second report and try this out if you have the equipment !

L: The air kept the ball high, even at high speeds, controlling the ball.

S: As L said, I was surprised the ball kept there at the higher speed.

M: A higher speed makes the air stronger but the heat setting made no difference.

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *